Daily Prompt: Simply Irresistible

Oops - there should be an image of Krispy Kremes here - our bad!

Some Yummy for your Tummy

Daily Prompt: Simply Irresistible

Today, the challenge of the literary mind is to:

Tell us about the favorite dish or food that you simply cannot turn down.

So, here comes our second Daily Prompt for Aircrew – What To Do. It ties in quite nicely with the articles we bring you, because there will be many of you who have flown around the world, experienced many delicious dishes, (and some not so delicious dishes, probably ones you’d rather forget we’re guessing!) and some of you will have become quite the culinary snob – we mean that in a nice way 😉 Nothing wrong with having a decent palate.

Here at A-WTD, we love, love, LOVE our food. We enjoy going out for meals when we can, really love finding cafes and restaurants that serve beautifully cooked meals when we’re on layovers together, Mr A-WTD really loves finding cafes and restaurants that serve beautifully cooked meals when he’s on layovers on his own (the Loner – no bitterness here *sniff*) and he also loves cooking scrummy food for us when he’s at home (now who feels guilty about calling him a Loner?). Plus we play Master Chef tasting games with our children – if his grub doesn’t come up to scratch, he’s OUT! Well, not really because my cooking is awful so they’d NEVER kick Daddy out of the kitchen – they’d be sick for weeks otherwise, that or very, very hungry.

For me, I have great difficulty when I go to restaurants STOP!! I need to stop right there and re-write that sentence. For me, I have great difficulty wherever I am, be it at home, in a restaurant, fast food outlet, pub, wherever, choosing what to eat, so this task of selecting a single dish is monumental. I am a Libran (if you read/believe in the traits of the star signs) and Librans have great difficulty with decision making (sometimes *ahem*). However, place a Glazed Krispy Kreme in front of me and I cannot resist it for long. Maybe a day maximum…or 5 minutes. It’s just the best donut I have EVER eaten! Forget all the fancy ones filled with amazing sounding creams – far too sickly for me, and I have a sweet tooth. Nope, just plain ol’ ring donut for me, that’ll do. But ask me to choose what I want for dinner while we are out and we might still be sat in the same restaurant the following week, month, potentially year so I simply have no answer to what dish I cannot turn down. That’s if I can even choose what restaurant I want to go to in the first place.

Mr A-WTD on the other hand is a little bit more decisive and clearer on what he likes…food being something he knows a bit about. I asked him earlier what his favourite dish was and me, expecting his answer to be “Everything, I can’t turn down anything at all”, was pleasantly surprised (though a little bit miffed that I was wrong, hmmpf) to be told “Boneless chicken tikka, naan bread, onion salad (with lots of coriander) and mint sauce…and a cold bottle of Cobra!” was his specified dish. You know, the one dish in the whole wide world he could not turn down. Really? This was it? The one?! So I pressed a little further…

Ooops - there's supposed to be a picture of a text here! Our bad!

Fillet Steak with Peppercorn Sauce and that cheesy potato thing you do…think he means Dauphinoise (or gratineed) and he’s supposed to be the culinarian!

So, fillet steak, peppercorn sauce and a ‘cheesy potato dish’ huh? Hmmmm. Then I threw this curve-ball. Shocking. In all the years we’ve been together, yeah, I know he likes steak, but never would I have thought he’d pick this as his death-bed dish! Well, this is what we’re talking isn’t it? The one dish you could never turn down/I’m being put on death row, this is my last dinner in the world ever…no? Ok then.

Curve ball.

Ooops - there's supposed to be a picture of a text here! Our bad!

Cheeeeeeeeeese! Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese!!! We like cheeeeese!!

We have regular cheese feasts and a film when the kids are tucked up in bed. We skip dinner and head straight for the yellow stuff – hard, soft, strong and clearly not mild, with pickles, with yummy biscuits and fresh crusty bread. So yeah, curve ball launched, caught and decision not made! Whoop – wife wins! Not competitive me. There was a competition, right?

So, now I’m stuck – Krispy Kreme or cheese feast. Which do I choose…we’ll be here till next week while I decide.

In the meantime, we would love to hear about all the dishes you guys have eaten on your travels and where these exciting culinary feasts have been experienced, so don’t be shy, scribble them down in the comments box or get in touch! Let us know about them!

What’s YOUR favourite dish? Comment below!

Other blogs you may be interested in:

  1. Simply irresistible | Braised Pork on Rice
  2. Food glorious food……. | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  3. Hooked | LynnSlyWrites
  4. Daily Prompt: Simply Irresistible. | Transitions
  5. Step 9: Accomplished (Resist the Irresistible) | conversation is an engine
3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Simply Irresistible

  1. Recently discovered. Rib eye steak. Rick cooks it perfectly with fat chips although we are going to have to try it with Tartiflette one day. Yum!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Simply Irresistible | Hear Em Rant Oft

Leave a Reply

